Monday, December 12, 2011

Morris Award Finalists Announced

Last week YALSA announced the five finalists for the 2011 Morris Awards.

What are the Morris Awards you ask?

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first awarded in 2009, honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.The award's namesake is William C. Morris, an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults.

The five finalists are:

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Paper Covers Rock by Jenny Hubbard

Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia McCall

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley

The winner of the Morris Award will be announced on Monday, January 23rd at the Youth Media Awards at the midwinter American Library Association Conference in Dallas, Texas.

Have you read any of these finalists? Who deserves to win? Who was shut out?

No comments: